Town with 62,000 inhabitants on the river Zala. The name of the county seat originates from the alder tree.

It is first mentioned in records in 1247. The Roman Catholic parish church in the city centre (1760) was built in baroque style, the 44 m high tower of the church was the symbol of the town in various eras. Historic introduction of Zala county in Göcsej Museum.
Places of interest in the town are the Village Museum of Göcsej, the Finno-Ugric Park of Ethnography next to the museum and in the neighbourhood the unique Museum of Oil Industry. Near the TV transmission tower with a look-out tower and a cafe you can find the protected Aranyoslapi-spring and the Azalea-valley.
The park-forest and the botanical garden in Csácsbozsok are excellent excursion spots.

One of the largest aquaparks of Europe was opened in June 2002 in the neighbourhood of the picturesque Lake Gébárti near the town. In the 75 ha AquaCity Water Chute and Amusement Park there are 18 different water-chutes, a 12 m high look-out tower, a swimming-pool with artificial waves on 6,000 m2, children´s and babies´ pools, 3 jaccuzzis with underwater massage, one jumping pool, one bathing pool and a 300 m long ´slow-river´. 
In December 2000 the thermal bath was completed with a 1,600 m2 water castle, chutes and an indoor bath with various squirting and fun elements.

The lovers of winter sports can enjoy the Ice Hall, which was completed by the autumn of 2004.

Pictures of Zalaegerszeg
Zalaegerszeg map nagyítása >>


Hungary - Zalaegerszeg

Ungarn - Zalaegerszeg

Releases | Impressum
Aerial photos by Civertan Studio
© 1989 - 2024

Tuesday, 28. May 2024. - 08:38:53