The city of Eger, with its one thousand-year history, heroic past, rich monuments, famous wines and thermal baths is one of the most famous towns of Hungary.

Eger is usually considered to be a historic town, yet it is also noted for its splendid Baroque architecture, wine, thermal and medicinal waters and lively student population. It became an episcopal seat as early as the 1th century, during the reign of St. Stephen, the first king of Hungary. Disaster struck the town many times: it was practically destroyed during the invasion of the Tatars, but its fortress, built in the 13th century, played a major role in defence during the wars of the Turkish era. Captain István Dobó and a handful of his soldiers withstood the attack of the Turkish army 40 times superior in force to his 2000 defenders for 38 days in 1552, and eventually forced the Turks to withdraw.
 Eger is dominated by buildings in Baroque style. It became an important cultural and education center in the 18th century. 184 outstanding examples of the architecture of the past few centuries have been preserved in their original forms: the Eger Castle and fortification, castle museum, casemate, Gothic Palace, gallery; Géza Gárdonyi Memorial Museum in the author's home; Basilica 1836; Archbishop's Palace; Lycée, Dioses Library, Observatory and periscope; "Minor" Provost's Palace; Santa Clara Grammar School; Franciscan Church; County Hall 1756; wrought iron gate by Henrik Fazola 1778, Sports Museum; "Major" Provost's Palace, County Library, 1722; Minorite Church 1773; Minaret 1624; Servite Church 1752; Greek-Orthodox Church 1786 and Orthodox parsonage; Kepes Museum; István Dobó Grammar School; Cistercian Church and Grammar School; Telekessy Pharmacy Museum with crockery; Center for Archbishopric Collection.
The town and the surrounding region is well-known for its wines. For over 1000 years the population of the region has produced grapes and excellent wines, such as Egri Bikavér (Bull's Blood) and Egri Leányka (Girl of Eger). The oldest wine-cellars are more than 400 years old (Szépasszonyvölgy), but new ones are carved out of the mountain-side to this day.
Thermal springs were discovered in the 15th century. Many public baths were in operation during the Turkish era, the rebuilt Bath of Pasha Arnaut, or Turkish Bath, is still open for those seeking treatment. Next to the Turkish Bath, there is the Thermal Bath with 6 pools of different size. It is situated in a beautiful park with protected trees and flowers. Beside the Thermal Bath the new Aladár Bitskey Swimming-pool was opened in 2000. It was designed by the famous architect, Imre Makovecz.
Apart from the sights, the town also offers many programmes annually, such as open-air festivals, concerts, folk and modern dance performances.
For more information see the Tourinform office at 9 Bajcsy-Zsilinszky St.
Phone: (36) 517-715, fax: (36) 518-815.


The settlement of 400 inhabitants lying in the circus of the Bükk hills, along the brook Eger was owned by the episcopate of Eger. A castle, a church, tunnels, rocks and lots of geological and botanical sights - that is Szarvaskő, earlier called Püspökváralja. On the 446 m high volcanic Keselyűbérc hill you can see the ruins of a castle built at the end of the 1200s. Today some basic walls of the castle and the ruins of a round tower can be seen. Due to its location the castle was an important fortress and an ancillary castle of Eger, now it is one of the gems of the Bükk National Park. The picturesque beauty of the village is increased by the neoclassical church built between 1840 and 1845. Szarvaskő is a popular excursion spot 10 km from Eger, it is easily accessible by car, bus or train. Going on foot take the national blue route to get to the village. The most picturesque railway line of Hungary - which is around a hundred years old - runs through two little tunnels under Vár hill.

Pictures of Eger
Eger map nagyítása >>


Hungary - Eger

Ungarn - Eger

Releases | Impressum
Aerial photos by Civertan Studio
© 1989 - 2024

Saturday, 20. July 2024. - 03:27:39