in Vác:   Hotel - Sight - Travel Service

Town with 34,015 inhabitants below hill Naszály, on the bank of the Danube. In 1065 it was already a town, an episcopate was founded here by King Saint Stephen. The prevailing townscape is due to public edifices built primarily from 1760 to 1785, mostly of the stones of the medieval fortress. Steamboating and the first railway line contributed to a significant development in the life of the town. Sights include the Cathedral (1777) and the Episcopal Palace (1775) both in late Baroque style. A selected list of baroque buildings comprises the Fehérek temploma (church of the White Monks, 1775); Saint Roch chapel (1740); Franciscan church and monastery (1761), Hétkápolna ("Seven Chapels", 1734); Piarist church (1745) and the Town Hall. The National Institute of Deaf-and-Dumb is housed in the oldest building of the city, built of two medieval edifices in 1700. In the Memento Mori crypt museum having special climatic conditions corpses mummified in a natural way are preserved in the coffins along with surprisingly intact costumes and burial accessories. This collection of great significance in cultural history was found in 1994-95 and it is listed as part of the World Heritage. The triumphal arch of Vác is the oldest one in Central Europe and a unique building in Hungary, which was built according to the plans by architect Isidore Canevale from Vienna in 1764 on the reception of Maria Theresa. The unique single-span monument of French neo-Classical, late baroque style has been restored and decorated with floodlights. The stone bridge of the brook Gombás was built by 1757, with stone statues on the breast-wall. The Kerek-torony (Round tower) or Hegyes-torony (Pointed tower) is the last conserved section of the fortification built after the Mongol invasion. Exhibitions include the Tragor Ignác Museum, Greek Church Exhibition Place, Hincz Gyula Collection and the medieval cellar. Nature conservation areas in the neighbourhood include the Kompkötő-sziget (Ferry-landing Island), hill Naszály, lake Naszály, Sárkány-gödör (dragon's pit) and Násznép-barlang ("cave of the Wedding Guests"). The study path in the flood plain of Vác is a 510 m long footbridge with barristers standing on posts at the City Park of Vác presenting the forests of the flood area at the mouth of the brook Gombás. Visitors can have an insight into a special, rare habitat here. It is open to the public, guide booklets and guidance are available.

TOURINFORM Vác
Vác map nagyítása >>


Vác


Hungary - Vác


Ungarn - Vác


Releases | Impressum
Aerial photos by Civertan Studio
© 1989 - 2018 IranyMagyarorszag.hu

Friday, 22. June 2018. - 09:19:58