A town with about 20,000 inhabitants at the confluence of Hortobágy-Berettyó and Körös. It was first mentioned in 1205-1235 by the name of Túr in the Váradi Regestrum. It got the rank of market town from Louis the Great. The 'Túri' Fairs were known and visited already in the 15th century. The foundation of its Calvinist secondary school preceded those of the famous colleges of Sárospatak and Debrecen. Organized between 1530 and 1540 the school now operates under the name of Szegedi Kis István Calvinist Secondary School. The neo-Classical Calvinist church was given its present form in 1845. The Town Gallery is housed in the neo-Classical building of the former synagogue, it exhibits the works of contemporary artists. The rich history of local pottery is presented by the Túr Museum of Pottery and the workshop of the famous Badár family. The 15 hectare area close to the town centre with its picturesque lake, bath with medicinal water, indoor swimming-pool and sports centre is ideal for recreation. The international Creative Camp of Artists is on the Takács farm 8 kms from the town, at the backwaters of the river Körös in beautiful surroundings. Outstanding event of the town is the 'Túri Fair', which is rich in cultural events. It is held on 21st August in 2005 as the closing of the 'Mezőtúr Art Days'. The fair awaits visitors with folk artists, craftsmen, a wide range of products, a one-day spectacular programme, fireworks and street ball in the evening.

Pictures of Mezőtúr
Mezőtúr map nagyítása >>


Hungary - Mezőtúr

Ungarn - Mezőtúr

Releases | Impressum
Aerial photos by Civertan Studio
© 1989 - 2018 IranyMagyarorszag.hu

Thursday, 22. March 2018. - 17:03:26