in Vásárosnamény:   Hotel - Sight - Wellness, Spa - Travel Service - Business Travel

Town with 10,000 residents, crossing-place to the region Tiszahát. It became a city by uniting three settlements: Vásárosnamény, Gergelyiugornya and Vitka and two farms in the vicinity in 1979. According to the archeological findings, Namény could be a significant settlement in the prehistoric age. The Hungarian conquerors crossed the river here, too. Around 1844 the town was the destination of steamers sailing on Tisza. The only monument building of the area is the castle built in the 17th century and rebuilt in Baroque style in the 18th century. The walls of the late Gothic Calvinist church were erected in the 15th century, reconstructed in 1932. The monument building of the school and the current Town Library on the main square was built in 1910. The Museum of Bereg is the most remarkable sight of the town. Beyond the interesting folk art things and archeological findings exhibited here, the Museum has a collection of school history, the world-famous collection of embroidered textiles of Bereg, and a unique collection of cast iron objects and stoves from the 18th and 19th centuries. The Gergelyi-Ugornya open-air bath was established at the confluence of the rivers Tisza and Szamos, on the eastern side of Tisza Bridge. The resort place built on the large sand bank is a bathing and angling paradise with pleasant water, lined with flood-area woods.


Pictures of Vásárosnamény
Vásárosnamény map nagyítása >>


Vásárosnamény


Hungary - Vásárosnamény


Ungarn - Vásárosnamény


Releases | Impressum
Aerial photos by Civertan Studio
© 1989 - 2018 IranyMagyarorszag.hu

Monday, 18. June 2018. - 13:36:30